Summer Reading

There is nothing quite as exciting as getting a new library card.

Okay, there are a lot of things that are probably more exciting, but for a person who is neither getting engaged, nor having a baby, nor graduating or starting an incredible career, getting a library card is pretty dang awesome.

I spent the majority of my time as an elementary/middle schooler in this amazing library we had nearby (But somehow it took me my first year and a half of college to realize I needed to be an English major???), and I volunteered there for about six years or so. Dewey is a long time friend of mine.

Anyways! Since moving to college, I’ve been so busy with…reading (for class), that I haven’t had a chance to actually read! Even during summers when I could hypothetically go home and go to the library, because my parents were moving around and I went to college out of state, it became virtually impossible for me to use the library like I used to. So this summer, my second summer staying on campus, I decided to finally head over to my local library and see if they could hook me up.

First of all, I had several people tell me that I should just use my college library, because this local library is quite small, but I am so glad I didn’t listen! The staff are all really nice, and always enjoy chatting about the books, and while the selection isn’t huge, because of ~the internet~ and ~the public library system~, I have access to all of the books I could ever want! And, as every writer knows, the only way to keep the flow going is to keep on feeding your brain books. So, without further ado, here are some books I have read this summer, and others I plan on reading!

Read:

The Red Queen (3 book series) by Victoria Aveyard

The Darkest Minds (I’ve read the first book and the first two novellas, but I have the other two books and another couple of novellas before I’m done with this series) by Alexandra Bracken

An Ember In The Ashes (The second book came out recently, but I think I’m going to pause on this series for now because it’s very good but started in 2015, which means there’s most likely going to be a lot of waiting) by Sabaa Tahir

Currently Reading:

House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski

The Bone Tree by Greg Iles

Eragon (This is probably the 20-something time I’m reading through the series) by Christopher Paolini

Next On the List:

 

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi

 

I have an entire list of other books I am hoping to read before the summer is out, and I have a ton of recommendations for any age and any genre, so please shoot me a message if you’re looking for a summer read! I’ve obviously been spending quite a bit of time binge-reading YA Fantasy novels, but that’s only because I’ve been drowning in copious amounts of Wordsworth, Wharton, and Milton (and every other author ever).

Go check out your local library, there’s probably a lot of cool people! (And wifi. And quiet. And a generally wholesome environment.)

Read on!

Julia

 

Leave a Reply

