Body Boggle: Yes, it’s a real game

Before we start:

I’ll be honest: I haven’t been keeping up to date with my 500-1000 words per day, but the intent is still there! I’ve had a crazy month, which I think I say every month, but I’ve got a couple ideas that will be posted in the somewhat-near future!

Back to Boggle:

Have you ever had the desire to play Twister and Boggle at the same time? Because I have! Little did I know the solution would be sent to me (courtesy of my Mom, thanks Mom!) for my birthday last week.

The game at first glance looked very promising. I’m a huge fan of embarrassing and original games, and with captions like “Every Body’s Word Game” and “Livens Up Any Get-Together”, I couldn’t resist opening it up. Keojah, a friend and house-mate, was the first to try it out with me. It took a little bit of reading and troubleshooting to figure out the rules, but Body Boggle easily exceeded my expectations. “It’s a great way to learn and exercise,” Keojah admitted, cackling at my request for a quote, “Also, how do you spell schnook?” (It took her about 20 minutes of guessing to figure out how to spell this word when we played for the first time) We ended up folding it up and putting it away, as it takes at least four people to play and we needed to stop procrastinating and get some actual work done.

On Saturday, after watching the new Beauty and the Beast (Which I may actually prefer over the original Disney movie, but that’s another blog for another day), the girls and I came back to the house and Keojah suggested we try and play Body Boggle “for real.” Now, my friend group is incredibly competitive, and we’ve been known to spend hours on games that take a half-hour with normal groups, so it’s always dangerous to play games with them. I decided to sit out and keep score while four of my friends split into two teams (we agreed it might not be fair if the English Major played the first time around, and this game is honestly just as fun to watch as it is to play).

Just like twister, there’s a playing-mat, only instead of 24 color circles there are 25 squares (there are 26 letters in the alphabet, but in this game the “q” and “u” are in a square together).

Without making this too boring to read, the rules go a little something like this:

  1. You and your partner work together to spell a word
  2. You can get up to 4 points a word depending on the difficulty you choose
  3. One hand/foot per letter in the word
  4. Once the word is completed (spelled correctly without anyone falling down) the team gets a new word
  5. You and your partner spell the new word, moving either a foot or hand to a different letter on the mat without falling or accidentally touching a wrong letter
  6. If you don’t think ahead, your partner might end up having to hold your legs up in the air (It happens more often than I anticipated it would)

And that’s pretty much the game play! If the team spells a word wrong, or falls over, then their turn is over and the other team has a chance to rack up points. One of my friends enjoyed it so much that she asked me where my Mom got it (a thrift store- go Mom!), and then swore she was going to find it somewhere so she could have it for her kids to play. “If I had known this game existing when I was still taking vocab tests, it really would’ve helped my grades.” My curiosity was piqued–the game was fun and all, but had my friends actually retained any of the words they had learned?

Yes!

I couldn’t help myself: after the game, I went back and asked several of my friends if they remembered how to spell different words we had used in the game, and 9/10 times they remembered exactly how to spell it.

This game might not be for everyone, but for an English major it’s like finding the Holy Grail, and the fact that my non-English major friends loved it too is proof that words are awesome!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

