In A Thousand Words Or Less (Pt. 2)

I procrastinated (again), but here I am! My inspiration for today’s little blog came from the amazing weather we had today in Northern Georgia.

Cloudy and rainy, with just enough wind to make it interesting. Needless to say, I spent the majority of the day indoors, curled up on my bed alternating between looking out the window (partially to enjoy the birdsong, but also to cackle at the people running from one dorm to another desperately trying not to get wet) and reading. 10/10 would recommend. Listening to the combination of the birds and the rain was practically heaven for me. But, any time this sort of weather pops up, I get a craving for a certain kind of music, and I blame it all on living in Georgia.

Now, before I specify, I want to take a minute and explain why this is a somewhat guilty pleasure. I grew up in the north (Florida is totally a northern state culturally), was raised by northerners, and had little to no exposure or attraction to any kind of southern music, especially “country.” Living in Georgia has obviously caused me quite a bit of trouble, as not only are the majority of my friends country fans, but it’s nearly impossible to go anywhere without hearing it! My friends, of course, being the vindictive little devils they are, force-feed me country as much as possible,

Insert my favorite Into the Woods moment- AGONYYYY!

However.

Over the course of a few years, there has appeared a small, justifiable crack. I have a tiny soft spot for bluegrass. Okay, maybe not so tiny. Where country music is repetitive and whiny, bluegrass is refreshing, fun, and complex. Maybe it’s because I’m obsessed with stringed instruments, maybe it’s the visual of little old men playing their instruments together in harmony the same way they’ve been doing it for decades, or maybe it’s because it’s a crazy blend of a bunch of different music genres. I’ll be honest, I don’t fully understand (or care to admit) the way this music has crept into my heart, all I know is when I was listening to the rain patter on my roof and window, and watching the birds dart from tree to tree, bluegrass began to play in my head.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m already incredibly picky (haha, get it, like “picking” the banjo? Give me a break it’s like 2am) when it comes any music genre, and bluegrass is no exception.

My artist of choice?

The Punch Brothers.

The arrangements are gorgeous and winding–the instrumentals alone are enough to make a girl swoon. But the words? Wow.

A lot of their songs focus on different areas of our lives that have been damaged or distorted because of our dependence on technology and social media. They’ve found the perfect balance between humor and truth, and somehow that doesn’t get lost in the beautiful maze of musical mastery that each song brings to the table.

Some of my favorites include:

I Blew It Off

Movement and Location

Rye Whiskey

Another New World (actually a cover of a song, but still amazing)

Don’t Get Married Without Me

I can’t really think of any one song that I don’t enjoy, to be fair, but these are the ones that stick out to me off the top of my head.

So, for anyone who hates country, don’t be afraid to give bluegrass a try! It’ll be worth the risk, I can guarantee it!

“Next to the Word of God, the noble art of music is the greatest treasure in the world.” Martin Luther

“The true beauty of music is that it connects people. It carries a message, and we, the musicians, are the messengers.” Roy Ayers

 

 

Leave a Reply

