So I Suppose This Is My Debut

Hi guys! Before I jump into my blog basics, I just want to start out by saying that I am an incurable perfectionist, which I’m sure you’ve heard before. What I’d really like to do with this blog is challenge myself to be vulnerable.

Instead of editing posts over and over until I think it will attract the most attention, or have the widest audience possible, I’m going to be dangerously me. Sometimes, that may mean a grotesque grammar mishap, but it may also mean saying something that sounds outrageously heretical. I may appear to contradict myself, when in reality, I’m trying to point out the contradictions that exist in our society.

One of the things that has become vitally important to me is challenging cultural norms. I’ve been realizing how use culture… and how it uses me. I’m not talking about culture as in ethnicity, environment, or even media specifically, although they all play a part, I’m defining culture as the inconceivable collection of what each individual throughout history has given to humanity. Now how is that for outrageous? And that’s my point- so many of the cultural norms today (whether it be in music, art, literature, politics) have become so specific, and so separated from their roots, that the beauty and variety of humanity is on the decline. I’m not saying humanity hasn’t progressed, because it’s obvious we have, but we have lost precious parts of culture that I truly believe would solve many of today’s problems.

Now that I’ve scared everyone away, I’ll start with ten confessions that may help some of you relate to me.

1. I embarrass myself with my fangirl-ness. I will talk a lot about books, movies, shows, and other things not just because I am an English Major, but because I can’t help myself.

2.  My name is Julia, and I am incredibly hard-headed. I’m working on that.

3. I profess to enjoy all kinds of music except country, however, since this is a confession list, I admit there are some guilty-pleasure exceptions to that exception.

4. I am a vegetarian. No, it’s not hard, because I just don’t like meat. Yes, I am still the chosen cook for my group of friends, and I have no problem making food from animals of all sorts.

5. Once upon a time I thought I could be a English Major and a Music Major at the same time. Music Theory changed all of that for me,

6. I take pride in that fact that I’m usually able to eat more food faster than anyone else at the table. I think my friends have accepted my vegetarian-ness because of this fact.

7. I have never made a Build-a-Bear… and that sort of makes me sad, though my sister pointed out the other day it has many characteristics of a satanic ritual. Food for thought.

8. Before writing this post, I only had a general idea of what my overarching theme would be, so for other beginning bloggers, trust me, writing it all out really helps.

9. I didn’t realize how much trouble I would have coming up with ten confessions, and I’m running out of ideas.

10. I, like every woman, enjoy chocolate. Very much so. But when it comes to ice cream, I’ll always choose vanilla!

Thanks for reading!

Stay Golden,

Julia

“The book to read is not the one that thinks for you, but the one that makes you think.”

-Harper Lee

4 thoughts on “So I Suppose This Is My Debut

Leave a Reply

